top of page


Lewis Hamilton's X44 team run by Prodrive, topped qualifying and finished third in the final of the inaugural round of the new Extreme E championship held in Saudi Arabia. The result means the team is second in the championship as the series head to the second round in Senegal in May.

Team drivers, nine time World Rally Champion, Sebastien Loeb and Spanish rally and Dakar driver Cristina Gutierrez showed their pace in the X44 ODYSSEY 21. The bespoke E-SUV produces 400 kW (550 bhp) and is capable of reaching 100 kph in 4.5 seconds.

Loeb, who started the two lap final race before handing over to Gutiérrez said: “Even though we had an issue with the power steering, we scored some big points and are 2nd in the championship overall so it’s a good start to the season. This weekend was about learning, and we know now that X44 is fast and that we’re able to fight for a win.”

Gutierrez said: “It was a good start for the team and we’re going to take all the positives into the rest of the championship. To be able to do so alongside a great group of people and whilst raising awareness of environmental issues is what Extreme E is all about.”

X44 and Extreme E will take its followers on a journey of discovery, to show first-hand how human actions are damaging the planet, racing electric vehicles in five remote locations that are already damaged or severely under threat of climate change. The five locations will highlight a variety of serious climate issues including melting ice caps in Greenland, deforestation in Brazil, and rising sea levels in Senegal.

Championship Standings

  1. Rosberg X Racing (Johan Kristoffersson / Molly Taylor) 35 points

  2. X44 (Sébastien Loeb / Cristina Gutiérrez) 30 points

  3. Andretti United (Timmy Hansen / Catie Munnings) 28 points

  4. ACCIONA | Sainz XE Team (Carlos Sainz / Laia Sanz) 26 points

  5. Hispano Suiza XITE Energy Team (Oliver Bennett / Christine Giampaoli Zonca) 20 points

  6. JBXE (Jenson Button / Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky) 17 points

  7. ABT Cupra XE (Mattias Ekström / Claudia Hürtgen) 13 points

  8. Segi TV Chip Ganassi Racing (Kyle LeDuc / Sara Price) 12 points

  9. Veloce Racing (Stéphane Sarrazin / Jamie Chadwick) 8 points


bottom of page